Skip to main content

Instrument of Government

The school is a voluntary controlled school

The Governing Body consists of:

2      parent governors

1      LA governor

1      staff governor

1      headteacher

2      foundation governors

3      co-opted governors

Total number of governors     10


Foundation governors shall be appointed by Gloucestershire Diocesan Board of Education after consultation with St Mary the Virgin Parochial Church Council, English Bicknor

The holder of the following office shall be a foundation governor ex-officio:

a. The principal officiating minister of the ecclesiastical parish of St Mary the Virgin Church, English Bicknor.

b. The Archdeacon of the Archdeaconry in which the school is situated shall, on behalf of Gloucestershire Diocesan Board of Education, be entitled to appoint a foundation governor to act in place of an ex-officio foundation governor whose governance derives from the office named in (a) above, in the event that that ex officio foundation governor is unable of unwilling to act as a foundation governor, or there is a vacancy in the office by virtue of which the governorship exists, or has been remobed from office under regulation 21(1) of the Regulations

The Archdeacon of the Archdeaconry in which the school is situated shall, on behalf of Gloucester Diocesan Board of Education, be entitled to request the removal of any ex officio foundation governor and to appoint any substitute governor.

A Trust exists which relates to the school, the Trustees being the Rector and Churchwardens

As a Church of England School, within the context of high quality teaching and collective worship, we offer Christian principles of belief. We wish to promote an understanding of the meaning and significance of faith and seek to encourage Christian standards and values through the quality of experience which the school provides for all its pupils and the example it sets them

This instrument of government came into effect on 1 April 2015

This instrument was made by order of Gloucestershire County Council on 10 March 2015