Skip to main content

English Bicknor Governing Body 2018-19

Mr Brian Haile

Mr Keith Andrews

Mrs Alliston

Mrs Childs

Mrs Rosemary Mann

Mrs Angela Healy

Miss Jo Munn

Rev Capt. Tony Williams CA.

Mrs Sophie Allen


Mrs Carolyn Shaw

The Department for Education required the Governing Bodies of all schools to reconstitute by 1st September 2015. English Bicknor C of E VC School Governing Body reconstitution took place on 16th March 2015. Governors had to complete a skills audit to ensure that the Governing Body, as a whole, has the required expertise to govern the school. Following the skills audit, the membership of the Governing Body remains unchanged but the types of Governor have undergone changes.

Revd Capt. Tony Williams CA: Foundation Governor Ex-officio

Appointed by the Diocese

My year group is Y5.  My subjects are RE, PHSCE, SMSC, Worship and Music.  As the Officiating Minister of the Ecclesiastical Parish of St Mary the Virgin Church, English Bicknor, I am the main link between the Church and the school.

Mr Brian Haile: Local Authority Governor

Appointed by the Governing Body

My year group is Y6. My subject is mathematics and I analyse the progress and attainment data. I look after the school budget. I am also involved with the health and safety of the school and make sure the school buildings are safe. I am the  Safeguarding Governor and monitor that you are all kept safe.

Mrs Sophie Allen: Parent Governor

Appointed by Parents

I am the Early Years Governor so will be interested in the progress pupils make by the end of the reception year. I am on the Finance Committee so am responsible for helping control the school budget. My subjects are Science and French.

Mrs Rosemary Mann: Co-Opted Governor

Appointed by the Governing Body

My year group is Y1. My subjects are Art, DT and RE. I am a member of the Ethos Committee, which involves talking and listening to the school council and worship team.  I am the SEND governor so I am interested in the progress SEND pupils make.

Mrs Angela Healy: Parent Governor

Appointed by Parents

My year group is Y2. My subjects are Science, PE and History.  I am the Sports Premium Governor.

 Mrs Jo Munn: Vice Chair of Governors, Chair of Ethos Committee, Co-Opted Governor

Appointed by the Governing Body

My year group is Y4. My subjects are English, RE, PHSCE, SMSC and Collective Worship. I was a  Headteacher so have experience of leadership  in schools. I also have experience with OFSTED and SIAMs. I am a main link between the Church and the School. I am the Pupil Premium Governor. I work in the Education department for Gloucestershire Diocese.

 Vacancy: Co-Opted Governor

Appointed by the Governing Body

I am a member of the Finance Committee so I help look after the school budget. My year group is Y5. My subjects are PE and Geography.

Mr Keith Andrews: Chair of Governors, Foundation Governor

Appointed by the Diocesan Board of Education

I am a member of the Ethos Committee, which involves talking and listening to the school council and worship team. I have an interest in the spiritual, moral, social and cultural learning in school as well as your daily worship. My year group is Y3, and my subjects are RE and PHSE. I am also on the Finance Committee. I am interested in internet safety and keeping you safe on line.

Mrs H Alliston                   Headteacher

Mrs Nicola Childs              Staff Governor - on Maternity Leave from Sept 2018

Miss Ellie Johnson             Associate Member: in replacement for the staff governor

Mrs Carolyn Shaw             Clerk to the Governors      

All parents/guardians are entitled to participate fully in the election of the parent or guardians' representative on the Governing Body.

Previous governors for the academic year 2018/2019:

Mr Pat Healy - term of office 01/09/2014 to 31/08/2018

Mr David Barnham - appointed 18/10/16, resigned 21/11/2018

Mr Phil Gwilliam - term of office 01/04/2015 to 31/03/2019

Mr Gordon Cranfield - appointed 13/09/2017, resigned 31/03/2019